Malaysia School Holidays 2021

The academic year for 2021 has been disrupted due to the Covid-19 pandemic. Traditionally schools will start after the New Year but for 2021, the school year will start on 20 January.

Group A

Schools in Kedah, Johor, Kelantan, and Terengganu

School HolidaysStartFinish
First Day of School20 January 2021
Term 1 Holidays26 March 202103 April 2021
Mid Year Holidays28 May 202112 June 2021
Mid Term Holidays16 July 202124 July 2021
Mid Term Holidays10 September 202118 September 2021
Year End Holidays10 December 202131 December 2021
Malaysia School Holidays

Group B

Schools in Perlis, Penang, Perak, Selangor, Negeri Sembilan, Malacca, Pahang, Sabah, Sarawak, Kuala Lumpur, Labuan, and Putrajaya.

School HolidaysStartFinish
First Day of School20 January 2021
Term 1 Holidays27 March 202104 April 2021
Mid Year Holidays29 May 202113 June 2021
Mid Term Holidays17 July 202125 July 2021
Mid Term Holidays11 September 202119 September 2021
Year End *Revised*11 December 202131 December 2021

Extra Malaysia School Holidays

The Ministry of Education also has extra holidays in-conjunction with major festivals.

School HolidaysStartFinishStates
Chinese New Year 10 February 202113 February 2021Group A / B
Hari Raya Aidilfitri11 May 202114 May 2021Group A / B
Deepavali03 November 202107 November 2021Group A
Deepavali03 November 202105 November 2021Group B except Sarawak
Deepavali05 November 202105 November 2021Sarawak

Malaysia Long Weekends

There are fourteen Malaysia national public holidays in 2021. Four of them are long weekends.

  • New Year’s Day: 1 to 3 January (Friday to Sunday)
  • Chinese New Year: 12 to 14 February (Friday to Sunday)
  • Hari Raya Aidilfitri: 13 to 16 May (Thursday to Sunday)*
  • Agong’s Birthday: 5 to 7 June (Saturday to Monday)

*subject to change

With some careful planning, you can get an extra nine long weekends, if you take annual leave on these dates:

  • Thaipusam: 28 January to 31 January (Thursday to Sunday)*
    – Take leave on Friday, 29 January
    – Those living in Kuala Lumpur, Labuan, and Putrajaya have an extra long weekend with Federal Territory Day on Monday, 1 February
  • Nuzul Al-Quran: 29 April to 2 May (Thursday to Sunday)
    – Take leave on Friday, 30 April
  • Wesak Day: 22 May to 26 May (Saturday to Wednesday) OR 26 May to 30 May (Wednesday to Sunday)
    – Take leave on Monday and Tuesday, 24 and 25 May, OR Thursday and Friday, 27 and 28 May
  • Hari Raya Haji: 17 July to 20 July (Saturday to Tuesday)*
    – Take leave on Monday, 19 July
    – Those living in Kedah, Kelantan, Perlis, and Terengganu have an extra long weekend with an additional Hari Raya Haji public holiday on Wednesday, 21 July
  • Awal Muharram: 7 to 10 August (Saturday to Tuesday)
    – Take leave on Monday, 9 August
  • National Day: 28 August to 31 August (Saturday to Tuesday)
    – Take leave on Monday, 30 August
  • Malaysia Day: 16 September to 19 September (Thursday to Sunday)
    – Take leave on Friday, 17 September
  • Prophet Muhammad’s Birthday: 16 October to 19 October (Saturday to Tuesday)
    – Take leave on Monday, 18 October
  • Deepavali: 4 November to 7 November (Thursday to Sunday)
    – Take leave on Friday, 5 November

*These dates are subject to change.

Leave A Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.