Malaysia School Holidays – Revised Due To Covid-19

The Ministry of Education has announced changes to the Malaysia School Holidays for 2020. The academic year has been disrupted due to the Covid-19 pandemic and the Movement Control Order (MCO) since March 2020.

The mid-term school holidays will now by only five days, instead of nine days previously.

The changes will affect schools in Group A (Kedah, Johor, Kelantan and Terengganu) and Group B (Perlis, Penang, Perak, Selangor, Kuala Lumpur, Putrajaya, Negeri Sembilan, Melaka, Pahang, Sabah, Sarawak and Labuan)

Schools will reopen in phases from 24 June 2020, starting with students who are sitting for the SPM, SVM, STPM and STAM examinations.

Group A

Schools in Kedah, Johor, Kelantan, and Terengganu

School HolidaysStartFinish
First Day of School01 January
Term 113 March21 March
MCO Closure22 March21 May
Mid Year22 May06 June
CMCO and RMCO Closure07 June26 June
Term 2 *Revised*20 August24 August
Year End * Revised*18 Dec31 Dec

Group B

Schools in Perlis, Penang, Perak, Selangor, Negeri Sembilan, Malacca, Pahang, Sabah, Sarawak, Kuala Lumpur, Labuan, and Putrajaya.

School HolidaysStartFinish
First Day of School02 January
Term 114 March22 March
MCO Closure23 March22 May
Mid Year23 May07 June
CMCO and RMCO Closure08 June26 June
Term 2 *Revised*20 August24 August
Year End *Revised*19 Dec31 Dec

Extra Malaysia School Holidays

The Ministry of Education also has extra holidays in-conjunction with major festivals.

School HolidaysStartFinishStates
Chinese New Year22 Jan23 JanGroup A
Chinese New Year23 Jan24 JanGroup B
Hari Raya Aidilfitri20 May21 MayGroup A
Hari Raya Aidilfitri21 May22 MayGroup B
Deepavali15 Nov16 NovGroup A
Deepavali16 Nov17 NovGroup B

Leave A Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.