Emirates and Etihad to resume transit flights after UAE lifts suspension

Emirates and Etihad Airways will gradually resume transit flights after the United Arab Emirates (UAE) lifted the suspension on air transit.


Flights will start operating transit flights to 29 destinations in Asia, Australia, Europe, Middle East, and North America starting 15 June 2020.

  • Asia – Hong Kong, Islamabad, Jakarta, Karachi, Kuala Lumpur, Lahore, Manila, Seoul, Singapore, Taipei
  • Australia – Brisbane, Melbourne, Perth, Sydney
  • Europe – Amsterdam, Copenhagen, Frankfurt, Dublin, London, Madrid, Manchester, Milan, Paris, Vienna, Zurich
  • Middle East – Bahrain
  • North America – Chicago, New York, Toronto

Update 19 June 2020

Emirates has announced it will offer schedules flights to 10 more cities

  • Colombo from 20 June
  • Sialkot from 24 June
  • Istanbul from 25 June
  • Auckland, Beirut, Brussels, Hanoi, and Ho Chi Minh from 01 July
  • Barcelona and Washington DC from 15 July.

Flights from Sri Lanka, Vietnam and Pakistan will only carry outbound passengers to the UAE and beyond.

Emirates offers Keep Your Ticket option for booking made before 30 June 2020 for travel before 30 November 2020. In the event of a cancellation, the airline will extend the validity of the ticket for 24 months from the date of the original booking. Changes are permitted with waiver of reissue fee and fare difference within the same cabin and same region of travel.

Etihad Airways

Etihad Airways will carry transit passengers to 20 cities in Europe, Asia and Australia from 10 June 2020.

  • Europe – Amsterdam, Barcelona, Brussels, Dublin, Frankfurt, Geneva, London, Madrid, Milan, Paris, Zurich.
  • Australia – Melbourne and Sydney.
  • Asia – Tokyo, Seoul, Jakarta, Kuala Lumpur, Manila and Singapore.

Etihad Airways continues to offer Global Covid-19 Commercial Waiver for booking made before 30 June 2020 for travel before 30 November 2020. Guest can change their flights without change fees. Rebooking must be done by 30 November 2020 for travel before 31 October 2021. Fare difference applies for flights rebooked for travel between 01 August 2020 and 31 October 2021.

The suspension was lifted late Wednesday, more than 2 months after UAE halted all passenger flights in March as a drastic measure to curb the spread of covid-19.

Foreigners are still banned from entering UAE except those holding residency who require government approval before returning.

Emirates and Etihad Airways flights can be booked online at www.leisureholidays.com. Our reservations team is happy to assist should you have any questions.

Leave A Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.