Departure Tax To Be Imposed from 01 September 2019

Fee from RM8 to RM150 departure levy imposed from 01 September 2019.

Anyone flying from Malaysia will have to pay tax in the form of a departure levy ranging from RM8 to RM150 from 01 September 2019. The departure levy rates will depend on the destination abroad and whether the flight is economy class.

DestinationEconomy ClassOther Classes
Outside AseanRM20RM150

Asean countries are Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam.

Economy class refers to flights that are advertised and sold by airlines using economic terms or their equivalent or having the lowers prices when compared to other packages, as explained by the Departure Levy (rate of Departure Levy) Order 2019.

The departure levy will not be imposed on infants aged below 24 months, or pedestrians.

Also exempted from paying the departure levy are travellers transiting via Malaysia, namely travellers arrive in Malaysia from abroad and leave Malaysia to the next destination within the transit period not exceeding 12 hours.

Exempted from paying the departure levy are any crew on duty on board any vehicle (including aircraft or vessel) and any one driving or riding any type of vehicle for personal use (including aircraft or vessel) and pillion riders or passenger of such vehicles.

Certain operators are exempted from having to register and charge the departure tax on passengers. These include operators of any water or land vehicle, any government operating any type of vehicle carrying out passengers from Malaysia, or any commercial vehicle operators who provide chartered air transport services for carrying workers to oil rigs or platforms.

Update 14 August 2019: The departure levy will be collected as tax code G1 on flight tickets issued on/after 01 September 2019 for travel on/after 01 September 2019.

Leave A Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.